Advice Needed on Optimizing GridDB Performance for Large-Scale IoT Data

Hello Everyone :hugs:,

I’m looking for tips on how to maximise GridDB’s performance for a big IoT project I’m working on because I’m pretty new to using it.

Here are some background details and certain queries I have:

Background of the Project: I’m working on creating an Internet of Things system that gathers information from hundreds of sensors placed throughout a smart city. Humidity, temperature, quality of the air, and other indicators of the surroundings are all included in the data. Because the sensors transmit data frequently, a significant amount of time-series data is continuously created.

GridDB was our first choice because of its scalability and excellent performance with time-series data.

Present Configuration:

• GridDB Three nodes in the cluster
  • Rate of Data Ingestion: About 50,000 records per sec
  • Data Model: Every sensor has its own time-series container in which its data is kept.

Problems and inquiries:

Performance of Data Ingestion: There are occasionally delays in the data input, especially during busy periods. What are the best methods for enhancing the performance of GridDB’s data intake in a high-throughput setting? :thinking:

Cluster Configuration: Are generally any specific options in the cluster configuration that can aid in enhancing performance? :thinking: For instance, network setups, memory allocation, or disc I/O optimisations? :thinking:

Time-Series Containers: Considering the quantity of sensors, is it more cost-effective to store the data from each sensor in a separate time-series container or should we think about combining the data into a smaller number of containers? :thinking:

Query Performance: In particular, for time-range query and aggregations, what tactics can we use to maximise query performance? :thinking: